top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamien Gold

Pilot



The pilot is the first episode of a tv show, and I guess this is my first blog post and so here it is, the pilot. This is a bit of an odd post, I feel like introductory get a little boring, and so I decided to dive right in.


Coaster season 2022: A look back


2022 has absolutely flown by, and what a year it has been for coaster enthusiasts, from saying goodbye to some of our most beloved and famous thrills, to getting exited for opening and construction of new ones, it has been a year of action and excitement. lets have a look at the highlights of open season '22. I only managed to get to Alton towers this year and so this edition will be Alton content heavy, but next season I aim to get to even more parks.


Spring - The opening month of the season came with a thrill, with it being the final season of a few beloved ride fans were of course bursting to get on them and make the most of their time before they closed the gates for good. Our favorite vloggers returned to parks with a bunch of new content for us to enjoy. Over at Alton Towers, the retro squad returned for another season at the park, and the smiler re-opened its gates after a worrying end to 2021. And in April Chessington park opened up for the season, joining Alton, Thorpe park and Drayton manor in thrilling the seasons early guests.


Summer - 2nd of July saw the long awaited opening of Flamingo Land's 'Sik', which saw fans rushing to Yorkshire for a go on the new attraction. Speculations began arising on the closure of Alton Towers dark ride 'Duel' and I managed to get two visits in at Alton this season between sorting Uni. I managed to get on all of the big rides this season and they were running wonderfully in my opinion, even experiencing a last of the day ride on Wickerman. The merch this year at Towers was brilliant as always, with some lovely embraided logo editions to the shops and a great edition of hoodies. I also managed to conquer my fears and take on the likes of Nemesis and Oblivion for the first time this year, which I don't regret a moment of - apart from the regret of coping out last year - and returned to old favorites like th13teen and galactica.


Autumn - The time everyone dreads, as closing season loomed upon us, we finally said goodbye to Drayton Manor's beloved drop tower, apocalypse, and last weekend, Alton Towers shut the gates to 1994 B&M legend, Nemesis, for renovations and a re-tracking. The closing weekend at all parks went out with a bang as spectacular firework displays lit up the sky all round, and fans said goodbye to their favorite parks ready for closed season.


Next year I hope to get back to Alton along with Drayton Manor and for the first time, Thorpe park, bringing new adventures and exiting vlogs with me along the way. Over closed season I plan to launch my YouTube channel and continue to create blogs, along with visiting the Christmas markets near me, and starting my photo gallery, looking back at the adventures of this year.


A short but sweet start, I hope to be able to continue and progress my blog work and set up more social medias where I can bring theme park content to more fellow enthusiasts.


until next time, stay safe all, and thankyou for starting with me on this adventure on TheTravelToast.



37 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page